The History Of Rooosevelt Dimes

February 28th, 2013  |  Published in Coin Series

Franklin Delano Roosevelt became the 32nd American President and was elected to serve four terms. He was an optimistic and idealistic President at a crucial moment of American history when the economy was in a state of severe depression and then he led the country in World War II. He died before the war ended and in commemoration of his service, his portrait was placed on the country’s ten cent piece. Rooosevelt Dimes continue to be made with no change in six decades to the front side of the coin.

The design of this dime was created by John R. Sinnock who worked for the United States Mint as an engraver. The portrait of Roosevelt appears on the front of the coin facing left. The portrait may be based on a bust that was created by Selma Burke, an artist. The reverse side of the dime shows a lit torch that is flanked by an olive branch and an oak branch on either side.

The new dime was issued in 1946 after the Mercury Dime series was concluded in the previous year. The Mint facilities in Philadelphia, Denver and San Francisco created more than 300 million coins to commemorate the President to the public who were eager to have a momento of him. The levels of production for this coin declined somewhat in the years that followed but they remained relatively high.

This commemorative dime was composed of a mix of a large proportion of silver mixed with a small amount of copper. After 1965, the alloy was changed to a mixture of copper and nickel instead.

Rooosevelt Dimes were struck at the West Point Mint to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the denomination. These coins bore the “W” mint mark for the first time. The coins were sold in annual sets to collectors. Although there are occasional suggestions to change the design of the denomination, the original design remains in use after more than 65 years.